In direct contrast to its name Wheal Prosper was not a very successful mine and traded for only a short period from 1860 – 1866. Prosper was quite a common name for Cornish mines, Collins in “Observation on the West of England Mining Region.” Gives accounts of six Wheal Prospers but does not include the mine at Rinsey,
Wheal Prosper was built with slate or killas that was quarried from a small quarry close by and granite quoins were added to strengthen the building. A tall and graceful chimney stack makes this a very picturesque building and it has been featured in the television sequel to Poldark.
The engine house is easily accessed, a National Trust car park is sited nearby and a footpath leads directly to Wheal Prosper. This footpath passes a ‘bat castle that has been built over the mouth of Michell’s shaft. The shaft itself is reported to extend 420ft below the surface and the ‘bat castle’ provides not only a safety cover for the shaft but its design allows bats to roost in the underground workings, twilight is the best time to observe the bats comings and goings.
A path near the engine house leads down to the beach known as Rinsey Cove and at low tide the ‘adit portal can be approached via a cave but care should be exercised due to the danger of rising tides and loose rocks.